Can-Am League Set for 2012 Campaign Without Rox

PRESS RELEASE – Can-Am League commissioner Miles Wolff announced the league’s roster of teams for the 2012 season on Friday. The Newark Bears, New Jersey Jackals, Quebec Capitales, Rockland Boulders and Worcester Tornadoes will take the field for the upcoming campaign, which includes interleague games with the American Association. The Brockton Rox will not play in 2012.

Wolff commented, “We are excited about the prospect of playing American Association teams this season, but regret that Brockton will not be on the schedule. We had expected an ownership change in Brockton, but it had not been finalized and we could not delay any longer. With the interleague schedule, we needed an odd number of teams for 2012. A Canadian city was ready for entry and would have been our seventh member, but with the complications in Brockton, league directors decided to move forward with the existing membership. The Rox remain members of the league, and we anticipate their return in 2013.”

The 100-game Can-Am League season begins on Thursday, May 17, and concludes on Monday, Sept. 3. In the past, the league played a split season, but for 2012, there will be no split season, and the top two teams will meet in September for the league championship. The Rox plan to join the Futures Collegiate League for 2012.

Leave a comment

Filed under League & Franchise

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s