Mexican League President Honored with MiLB’s Warren Giles Award

Minor League Baseball LogoPRESS RELEASE – nor League Baseball™ announced today that it has selected Mexican League President Plinio Escalante as its recipient of the 30th annual Warren Giles Award, which honors outstanding service as a league president. Escalante is the first Mexican League president to win the Giles Award and just the third from a foreign-based league in the award’s history.

Minor League Baseball Giles Award 2013This year, Escalante diffused a potentially tough situation involving World Baseball Classic players from Mexico that allowed them to represent their country in the 2013 tournament. For the third year in a row, he also directed three successful campaigns for the league, “Ponchemos el Cáncer de Mama” against breast cancer; “Ve Bien, Ve al Beis,” for children with vision problems; and “Un Hit, Un Árbol,” an ecological campaign, as part of his vision to get the league more involved with social issues affecting the communities of his clubs.

“Plinio has done an outstanding job since taking over as president of the Mexican League in 2007,” Pat O’Conner, President & CEO of Minor League Baseball, stated. “He has successfully guided the league through difficult times and has spearheaded its efforts to become more socially responsible in the cities its clubs call home.”

“I am very happy and honored to have received this award and grateful that the Mexican League is taken into account to participate in these awards of Minor League Baseball,” Escalante said.

The Mexican League has attracted more than 3.8 million fans the last two seasons, since Escalante, despite a challenging economy, returned the league to a full complement of 16 teams. The circuit operated with 14 clubs in 2011. He has also overseen development of the league’s website and intellectual property program.

Escalante, who began his baseball career in 1973 as the general manager of the Yucatan Lions, will receive his award at the Baseball Winter Meetings™ Banquet at the Walt Disney World Swan and Dolphin Resort in Orlando, Fla., on Thursday, Dec. 12.

The other two winners of the Giles Award from a foreign-based league were Freddy Jana of the Dominican Summer League (1996) and Saul Gonzalez of the Venezuelan Summer League (2004).


1984 Charles Eshbach Eastern League
1985 Bill Walters Midwest League
1986 Joe Ryan American Association
1987 Carl Sawatski Texas League
1988 Harold Cooper International League
1989 Jimmy Bragan Southern League
1990 Joe Gagliardi California League
1991 Chuck Murphy Florida State League
1992 Bill Cutler Pacific Coast League
1993 John Moss South Atlantic League
1994 Randy Mobley International League
1995 John Hopkins Carolina League
1996 Freddy Jana Dominican Summer League
1997 George Spelius Midwest League
1998 Branch Rickey Pacific Coast League
1999 Bob Richmond Northwest & Arizona Leagues
2000 Bill Troubh Eastern League
2001 Lee Landers Appalachian League
2002 Randy Mobley International League
2003 Tom Kayser Texas League
2004 Saul Gonzalez Venezuelan Summer League
2005 Tom Saffell Gulf Coast League
2006 Joe McEacharn Eastern League
2007 John Moss South Atlantic League
2008 Don Mincher Southern League
2009 Ben Hayes New York-Penn League
2010 George Spelius Midwest League
2011 Chuck Murphy Florida State League
2012 Bob Richmond Northwest & Arizona Leagues

Leave a comment

Filed under Awards & Recognition

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s