TinCaps Crowned MiLB’s Team of the Year

PRESS RELEASE – The Fort Wayne TinCaps were named MiLB.com’s Team of the Year following a 2009 season that saw them win 101 games and a Midwest League championship.

The TinCaps won the Class-A Team of the Year honor and beat out Triple-A Durham, Double-A Akron and Advanced-A San Jose for the overall Team of the Year award.

“Nobody could’ve dreamed for a better opening to Parkview Field in 2009 and our team on the field was a big part of that,” TinCaps President Mike Nutter said. “The guys went out and won more games than anybody in the minors this year. They were talented players but the team chemistry was what put them on another level. We can’t thank the San Diego Padres enough for their support.”

Fort Wayne broke sixteen franchise records in 2009, including wins in a regular season (94) and wins in a half-season (49). The TinCaps smashed the team record for longest winning streak when they opened the season with a 10 straight wins.

The TinCaps continued winning even after the season ended; INF James Darnell and RHP Simon Castro were named the Padres’ Minor-League Player and Pitcher of the year, respectively. Manager Doug Dascenzo won the Padres’ award for top player development staffer. The Fort Wayne front-office staff received the Midwest League President’s Trophy.

Leave a comment

Filed under Awards & Recognition

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s